Spanish Food Favs: Patatas Bravas

I’m in Barcelona at the moment on a short break. It’s not a city I know well at all (the last time I came here I was seven years old I think) – but the food has got to be hands down one of the best things about this place. We’ve eaten in a variety of places, from trendy guidebook recommendations to backstreet cafés to fancy seaside restaurants – and I don’t think I’ve tasted anything yet I haven’t found delicious.

My favourite new discovery though would have to be the ubiquitous patatas bravas.
It’s a staple on pretty much every tapas menu, and I LOVE it. It’s not very complicated and also is difficult to photograph in an appealing way: IMG_4006.JPG

It is essentially just cubed fried potatoes, with two sauces: allioli, a Catalan sauce made of garlic and olive oil, and a spicy tomato salsa sauce. I guess it’s just a better version of chips with garlic mayo from an Oxford kebab van back home, but god it’s good.

Leave a Reply

