The Women’s Boat Race

The Women’s Boat Race

Henley-on-Thames

image

Boats racing at Henley

I’ll be the first to admit that I know next to zilch about the strange sport of rowing. With a heavy contingent of rowing-crazy friends among my acquaintances though, I can usually just about follow the ‘rowing chat’ – even if it sometimes (read: often) bores me to death. As someone who dislikes both early mornings and most forms of exercise, I just don’t think I’ll ever understand their motivation! However, Henley is just about the loveliest place that you can spend a sunny English weekend in spring, which is exactly what I did last week, to watch the annual Oxford-Cambridge women’s boat-race. To be honest, the race itself you only watch for about five minutes (and it was quite exciting even I have to admit), but it’s one of the nicest bits of the countryside that I know, and I’d be happy to go back another weekend, rowing or no rowing. (It would also be especially nice to go not with a splitting hangover!) It’s very easy to get to from London – only about an hour on the train – so if you have a spare sunny Sunday approaching, I’d recommend a visit. The river sparkles in a very nice river sort of way, and there’s good pubs in the town itself.

The big news is of course that the Women’s Boat Race is moving to the Tideway next year to have equal status with the men’s race. This is a great change, and I’m really glad that the coverage of the Men’s Boat Race this year had lots about it and I’m really hoping that the media next year does a decent job of covering both races with equal emphasis – even though it’s probably easier in reporting to focus on one big race. In other rather less exciting news, I had a photo published in a college bulletin (the link above is to the web version) – I guess you’ve got to start small right?

Leave a Reply

